Month: June 2013

  • Why Do Men Move on Faster From Break-Ups?


    Human nature and the differences in how men and women deal with different life situations has always been of great interest to me, especially when it comes to moving on from a break-up.
    As a woman, going through a break-up is akin to a sort of death. You mourn the relationship, at least I do, and I turn to focusing on myself, throwing myself into my work in order to cope with the current situation. Every woman is different but for the most part, women after a break-up take to the bed, i.e. hysterically crying and being unable to leave the confines of your bed. It becomes your safe little island where you can be yourself, the emotional wreck that you are at the moment.

    After a break-up one of the last things on my mind is jumping into bed with someone else to help me recover, a sort of pounding the pain away you might say. This does not work for me. Women tend to really deal with and feel their emotions, while mean deal with break-ups in a completely different way. Continue reading

  • The Future of Love?

    Last night, one of my best friends from home and I were talking about chatting online. After hearing such horror stories about being tricked by the person you are chatting with and that person lying about their identity, my friend had a couple questions: "Okay, people claim that they can fall in love with a person online just by chatting with them over time and never seeing them in person. But what if you finally do meet that person, and they have been lying about their physical (not emotional) identity? What if they are not even the same gender as what they claimed? Do you still love them? Are you gay now because you apparently fell in love with someone of the same gender?"  Continue reading

  • How To Give Gifts To Guys?


    I used to be a terrible gift giver. I could never think of anything and I always waited until the last minute. I always envied people who gave the most thoughtful and creative gifts, but no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't.

    Continue reading

  • Sexy Sounds: The Sensual Sex Playlist


    Although playing music while having sex can really add to the experience, you may not necessarily want it to sound like you’re at the club. Sometimes, you just need slower, softer music (that is still totally sexy) to set the sensual mood. Here, you’ll find my favorite songs for doing just that, along with a playlist you can stream for free while you read about my selections. Continue reading

  • Wet and Messy


    Late one night, my friend Frank and I were hanging out, having a couple beers, and watching videos on YouTube. At one point, he turned to me and asked, in a hushed tone, “Can I tell you something?” I nodded. “You’re going to think I’m weird,” he continued. I was becoming more and more curious with each passing moment. 

    “So,” he began, “I’m kinda into this thing called WAM…” At first, I thought he might have meant the duo behind “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.” I tilted my head to show my confusion. He grinned, and said finally, “It stands for wet and messy.” Continue reading

  • Rate Your Date: Has Technology Gone Too Far?

    During my college years the Rate My Professors website became very popular amongst my fellow co-eds who kept badgering me to utilize the website. No, I would consistently respond to them, it just doesn't seem like the right thing to do. An opinion is just someone's personal opinion and each person's experience with another person is different from the next one. I wanted to experience the professor for myself and judge them solely on how they handle the material and treated me. I felt very strongly about not using the website. It just sounded mean and slightly unethical; you, as a student, could destroy a professor's reputation that they had worked so hard to build. The idea of Yelp-rating a person has now been taken to some interesting territory: dating. The app is called Lulu, created by entrepreneur Alexandra Chong which allows women and only women (no boys allowed) to rate their male friends, lovers, ex-boyfriends and ex-lovers. The app was launched in February and has garnered some interesting attention. This means that you can now date and rate your dates in cyberspace, without leaving the comfort of your home  Continue reading

  • The Choice After Someone Cheats


    Last summer, I went back to my high school to visit. I bumped into my soccer coach, and we started discussing her recently getting re-married. She gushed about how attentive her new husband was to her and her two children from her first marriage. She was really grateful for this because her first marriage ended pretty messily, and her boys did not have much of a father-figure around. She mentioned that, of course, no one wants to get a divorce, and no one in her family had gotten a divorce before her. "But you know," she sighed, "I didn't really have a choice."  Continue reading

  • What's Your Fantasy? Anal Sex


    One night at school, my friend, Mary*, was talking about how much she thoroughly enjoyed anal sex with her boyfriend.
    She enjoys it so much that she actually uses the "butt plug" she received as a gag gift last Christmas to "loosen herself" up before seeing her boyfriend. A couple of my friends were completely enticed by anal. They asked my friend how it was and for any tips. (These tips included going to the bathroom an hour before and lots of foreplay to relax you.) Some of my friends seemed quite eager to try it themselves.  Continue reading

  • Conflict of Interest: Hot For Teacher


    My junior year I took an Intro to Literature class as part of my requirements for my major. The class was interesting enough, though boring at times, and I learned so much that semester but I was distracted whenever I had to go to my Discussion by my really hot TA. I'm the sort of person who doesn't normally get nervous around guys but something about him made me feel like a 5-year-old every time he spoke to me. The thing that made me even more nervous was that it seemed as if he might have taken an interest in me, past a normal TA-Student relationship.

    Continue reading

  • I Dream of Cheating


    I have had a most unusual week, waking up feeling incredibly disturbed about what I dreamt about the night before. I had a dream the other night in which my boyfriend cheated on me and was clearly not hiding it from me, not even making an attempt to hide it from me. The next night I dreamt that I cheated on my boyfriend with a guy that I currently have a crush on. There was a lot of touching involved and some caressing of exposed body parts. In short, it was a sex dream and I would be lying if I said I didn't enjoy it. I did. I have this theory (derived from reading several articles and just living life and speaking to real life human women) that women are just as into sex, if not more so than men.

    I believe myself to be living proof of this theory/hypothesis. I digress. Apart from being disturbed by my boyfriend cheating on me with another women, I can't match a face to anyone because for the most part, you cannot do that in dreams, I was delighted by my cheating dream even though I would not cheat on my boyfriend. I have been asking myself two questions: 1. What does it mean that I had a dream of my boyfriend cheating one me? 2. Why is it the next evening I had a dream about me cheating on him? I wonder if this is so unusual, the strange succession of dreams. 

    Continue reading