August 21, 2013

  • No More Teacher's Dirty Looks: UConn Bans Teacher-Student Relationships

    About a month ago, I wrote an article about Teacher-Student relations at the college level. I think at one point or another, at least everyone has had a professor, a teacher, a teacher's assistant, or someone in a teaching position who they found attractive. Now for most people, it doesn't develop any further past a harmless crush or a mild flirtation. But for some, the relationship is taken to a whole different level entirely.

    University of Connecticut has recently put it's foot down when it comes to matters of teacher student relations that extend anywhere past the classroom and potentially into the bedroom. Now I remember reading some of your comments on my last piece about some of you becoming involved with your TA's or professors, no judgement, of course. Under this new jurisdiction, if you went to UConn, some of you could've been facing disciplinary action!

    The university commented on the matter, "Any amorous, intimate, or sexual contact is covered under this policy, regardless of duration and regardless of how traditionally 'romantic' (or not) or long term (or not) the encounter may be... One-time encounters are included. The intent of the Policy is to capture all such encounters or propositions for such encounters, not just long-term, established relationships." The new rules apparently were brought about because of an investigation into the sexual misconduct of one of UConn's music professors. 

    No sexting, No one night stands, No making out in the library, None of it! However, there is hope for some UConn grad students, "Relationships with graduate students are allowed in some cases, but they are banned when the faculty or staff member has power or influence over the student, such as when the faculty member is the graduate student's adviser, or when the student is a teaching assistant for the faculty member."

    What do you all think? Is this new legislation a good idea or a bad idea? If your college/university had legislation like this while you were studying there, would it bother you? Would any of you have ignored it and gone after the teacher/TA that caught your eye? 

Comments (7)

  • Good. There is NOTHING good that can possibly come out of student-teacher relationships. 

  • It wouldn't bother me since I never had a crush on a teacher/college professor. I was still in my chola phase in college, so I usually had crushes on the cholos(gangster styled gang banger looking types) or my fellow cute cholo classmates. some of the skater guys were cute-I loved their hair. I don't care for that type of style now but back then, I thought it was cute. my teachers were either very old with beer bellies, middle aged and super hairy, young but with the creepy vibe because sometimes I'd see the teacher standing at the doorway looking at students pass by, which seems normal, but I see that look in his eyes that gave me the creeps. I mean, yeah, he's just looking and might be checking out students, but I just didn't have that attraction to teachers. okay, I thought most of them were extremely geeky. some geeks are cute, but not the ones from my school. I wasn't into the white collar dressed up men until I was older, which is now. nowadays I usually have no interest in young cholo types, but I'm drawn to the older men in suits, or mid 30's kpop suited guys

  • I kinda like this rule. It'll make secret affairs more fun. :)

  • Does this include non sexual or romantic friendships as well? Does this "discipline" apply only to the faculty member or will the student be disciplined as well?I understand the why of this...but...if all parties involved are adults and consenting partners. Like Dr's and therapists, lawyers etc...professionals should not get jiggy with people who are currently their 'clients'.

  • @secretbeerreporter@xanga - Hmm. I thought you would be very much against 'banning student/teacher relationships.'. That being said, I totally agree with you.

  • Good. There will be a lot of dumb blonds who don't get an A the easy way.

  • I think it's a good idea, because yes, they are consenting adults, but the power difference is too big. A lot of college students might not have the maturity and/or experience to know how to deal with what would happen if the relationship went sour and they still had to go to the professor's class, and it's just not a healthy romantic or educational relationship when that kind of dynamic is added.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment