Month: July 2013

  • It's Not Technically Cheating But...

    My friend, Jim*, started dating this girl at the start of the summer. They met in California where she lives and he goes to school. A couple weeks into summer break, though, Jim had to leave his new girlfriend to go home. Despite the distance, they agreed that they were exclusively dating. A couple weeks after Jim left California, his girlfriend called. She said that she didn't really feel comfortable doing the long distance thing. She still wanted to talk everyday and text non-stop, she just wasn't feeling the official label. Although Jim thought this was odd considering they were behaving the same way they did when they were in a long-distance relationship, he agreed. Several weeks later, his girlfriend called him and told him she hooked up with another guy.  Continue reading

  • Failed Relationships: Wastes or Worthwhile?


    I’ve had my fair share of failed relationships. For one reason or another, “happily ever after” turned sour, and partners turned into exes. Sometimes someone cheated, sometimes someone mistreated, and sometimes feelings just faded. When I look back at these relationships, I try to see them as positive things, as things that helped me to grow as a person. But in the end, were they just wastes of my time? Continue reading

  • It Just Worked

    One of my good friends at school, Tim*, is gay. He is currently dating a great guy who we also go to school with, and Tim couldn't be happier. He claims that this is his first functional, healthy relationship. (He actually had another pretty serious boyfriend last year, but they had their fair share of issues.) Tim always laughs that the relationship he had at the end of high school was a pretty healthy one, but, well, it was with a girl.  Continue reading

  • Pet Names


    Honey bun, Sweetie, Sweetheart, Muffin, Suga, Snuggle Bunny, Pumpkin, Baby, Snookems, Sweetums... Pet Names. 

    In the beginning of my relationship, I never really thought I was the sort of person to give my boyfriend a pet name. It sort of just happened one day. If you were to even ask me where some of the pet names I call him came from, I wouldn't even be able to give you an explanation at this point. The one I use the most is probably Poochie (no judgment)!

    The pet names my boyfriend and I have for each other are like inside jokes that we have together. I don't ever really use them when we are out in public together, and rarely in front of my friends will I use them.  Continue reading

  • Why My Generation Never Breaks Up

    While getting ready to leave for work this week, my mailman dropped off my weekly NY Mag and on the cover I saw the very bottom half of what appears to be an orgy, legs dangling against a white background with the word Sex in red print clearly yet sort-of-but-not-so-subtly displayed on the cover, taunting me to read. Don't mind if I do. Not only do I love having sex, I love reading about it. Subway reading material for the week? Check. As I turned to page 28, there it was: All My Exes Live in Texts. I read on. Continue reading

  • Her Last Resort


    My friend Drew was telling me about a conversation he had with this girl friend of his, Kady. They've been friends for years now, and he's had feelings for her but he never wanted to saying anything. He didn't want to muddy the waters with feelings and potentially jeopardize their friendship. The two were out for drinks and she was talking about some guys she had gone on dates with lately who weren't up to par with her expectations. 

    He went to the bar and bought her a Gin & Tonic, her favorite drink, and brought it back to her. That's the sort of person he is, a big sweetheart, always worrying about other people's needs. She put her hands on her heart and looked at him sweetly as she said, "Drew, you're always such a sweetie to me! I'm so tired of dating, I'll never meet anyone that's as nice to me as you are. In 10 years, if we're both single, I'm going to marry you!" She started laughing and he laughed along with her because he didn't know what else to do. He texted me right after she said this and asked me what I thought it meant.  Continue reading

  • What If They Hate Your SO?


    One of the most fundamental things in a relationship is love (or at least like). You really need to love/like your SO, or else things are doomed to eventually fail. Outside of the relationship itself, it’s also important that your family and friends like your SO. Of course, this is far from a requirement, but it will make things go much more smoothly. So, what happens if they hate your SO? Continue reading

  • Woman or Rolex?

    A couple of years ago I wrote a post where I calculated the amount of money I wound up not wasting on women by taking the Dutch approach to dating. I calculated it long-term, that amount was roughly $2,700.

    My dream watch is a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Datejust with diamond-set dial and a leather strap. Yes, I have a very expensive taste in watches indeed. I agree it's a totally frivolous way to plunk down thousands of dollars (especially in light of the fact that there are plenty of quality mechanical watches that cost much less than that), but I'm a watch enthusiast so it's alright.

    Being the bargain hunter I am, and being a certified master watchmaker with experience restoring fine timepieces, I decided I would look at used Rolexes that perhaps weren't in the best of shape that I could buy for a reasonable price and then restore myself to pristine condition. Continue reading

  • What I Learned


    I've been a lurker for a while and feel the need to share what I've learned. I have written two previous posts: "Hurt and Confused" & "Hurt and Confused: Update"

    This might as well end up as a rant.
     
    My ex broke up with me in late February after he went on a NY trip for three days. The next day I saw him, he broke up with me. Up until that very point, I thought things were going well. Then all of a sudden, every opinion of mine was wrong, I no longer appeal to him, there is no love (or what I thought was love) left. This was the week I had 3 tests in electrical engineering no less and I failed them all in my emotional distress. I was in shambles. For one week, I let myself mope. To be honest, I believe I went through the seven stages of depression in that week. 

    Continue reading

  • The Rule of Three


    When I found out that my fiancée has slept with two people besides me, I was pretty relieved. I think part of me wished that the number was zero (because I hate the idea of her being with anyone else), but two is still, in my opinion, a completely reasonable number. I trusted that my fiancée was telling me the truth about her sexual past, but according to the rule of three, I should not have trusted her so easily. Continue reading